Time Acupuncture2017-12-22T15:14:34+00:00

SOLAR TIME – CLOCK TIME

ZI WU LIU ZHU

LING GUI BA FA

Basics

The neologism „Time Acupuncture“ wants to illustrate the combination of the energetic of the time with the energetic of the acupuncture. Through the coordination of these energetic cycles we are able to optimize the effectiveness of the acupuncture treatment. We treat in the manner of the old masters.

Somewhere within the twelfth and thirteenth century, a period known as the Jin- and Yuan-Time, the two classical methods Zi Wu Liu Zhu Zhen Fa and Ling Gui Ba Fa with two subcategories each were introduced by Dou Hanqing and Xu Feng.

A cyclical perception of time is used in time acupuncture. The year, the month, the day, and the Chinese double hour are examples of such cycles. Each cycle is further subdivided. In that way a year includes twelve months, and a day includes twelve time divisions or Chinese double hours. Each time unit is characterized by Yin or Yang and by one of the five elements. These daoistic concepts are well known in acupuncture. Here we find the subdivision in twelve as well as for example in the twelve meridians. It is obvious that time and acupuncture – both characterized by the Yin-Yang polarity and the five elements – can be aligned and correspondingly combined.

Background Information

Detailed background information about the time based acupuncture methodes Zi Wu Liu Zhu Zhen Fa und Ling Gui Ba Fa can be found in the script „Theoretical Basis and Concepts“, which is enclosed to the Wheel of Time Acupuncture. This script will answer your questions whenever you look for information beyond the applications of the „Time Acupuncture App“ or the “Wheel of Time Acupuncture”.

SOLAR TIME – CLOCK TIME

Perception of Time of the old Chinese

At the time of the constitution of the classical methods of time acupuncture the present-day clock time was unknown. Solar time was the reference. The old Chinese masters based the time acupuncture on the knowledge that physiological functions are regulated under the dictatorship of the sun. This knowledge is confirmed by many findings of modern chronobiology.

Therefore, contemporary acupuncturists using Zi Wu Liu Zhu Zhen Fa and Ling Gui Ba Fa have to adhere to the defined prerequisites of the methods. That means any local clock time has to be converted into the current solar time.

The calculation of solar time from local clock time, however, is complicated and in the daily clinical routine too time consuming. There are many publications available about the topic. However, for the calculation they generally offer little feasible assistance.

This problem is sorted out by the new Time Acupuncture App. Thereby the classical time based acupuncture methods are simple and reliable to apply.

Assistence in Converting the Clock to Solar Time

Sundial

Example: Sundial at the chapel of Siebeneich, Kerns, CH (8.27°E). Photographed on May 21, 2016; local clock time (CEDT = UTC+02:00): 14:25

This sundial is gauged to real-time (=winter time). However, the daylight saving time was active at the point in time of the taking of this photo. Therefore a conversion to winter time has to be performed:

Local real-time (zone time CET =UTC+01:00): 13.25

The shade of the clock hand points on the marker 13:30. This corresponds to the local clock time according to the winter time.

However, the correctly calculated solar time for our example would be 13:01 (see Local to Solar Time Calculator).

Thus, the sundial of Siebeneich doesn’t display the correct sundial time, as a real ancient sundial shoud do it.
Explanation of this inconsistency: The clock face was painted on the chapel in a way that the clock hand displays the local clock time without considering a possible daylight saving time instead of the solar time.

ZI WU LIU ZHU

Zi Wu Liu Zhu Zhen Fa – 子午流注针

A common translation of Zi Wu Liu Zhu Zhen Fa is “The Midnight-Noon Ebb-Flow Acupuncture Method”.

The terms Zi Wu and Liu Zhu refer back to the classical books of Huang Di Nei Jing (around 200 BC) and Nan Jing (around 200 AD).

This form of time acupuncture is often referred to as astronomical acupuncture. It treats, primarily, the pathologies of the twelve main channels and employs the five transporting-shu points in addition to the yuan-source points on the yang-channels.

Two basic forms are distinguished here. The first method, Na Zi Fa, utilizes the earthly branches. The second method is called Na Jia Fa and it utilizes the heavenly stems.

Zi Wu Liu Zhu Zhen Fa: Na Zi Fa – 拿子法

All acupuncturists will probably know the Zi Wu Liu Zhu Zhen Fa – Na Zi Fa method. It includes applications according to the meridian clock.

Na – 拿 – means to take or make use of and Fa – 法 – means method. Zi – 子 – is the first earthly branch and stands for the earthly branches in general. Na Zi Fa – 拿子法 – “Take or Use the Branch Method” – is the method that works with the earthly branches.

This is considered the easiest method of time acupuncture. It is based on a combination of the twelve time divisions of the organ clock and the five transporting-shu points.

 

The theoretical background of the system is, on the one hand, supplied by the organ or meridian clock with its assignment of the earthly branches to the channels and, on the other hand, the five transporting-shu points with their classical indications as well as with the rules of the five elements.

The Meridian Clock

The application of the meridian clock includes many strategies as for example:

  • different strategies for tonification,
  • different strategies for sedation,
  • strategies of the five transporting-shu points concerning the classical indications, concerning the element indications, and concerning the seasonal indications,
  • different strategies for the treatment of the meridians,
  • strategies for the treatment of the internal organs,
  • strategies for the zang organ’s treatment,
  • strategies for the fu organ’s treatment,
  • treatment strategies using the functions of specific points (luo-connecting points, yuan-source points, the xi-cleft points, the lower-xiahe points, the horary-ben points, back-shu points, mu-front points)
  • applications of the host-guest rule
  • applications of the noon-midnight law

These strategies will be explained in detail in the Time Acupuncture App.

Zi Wu Liu Zhu Zhen Fa: Na Jia Fa – 拿甲法

We call the Na Jia Fa points “Joker Points” because of their efficiency.

Na Jia Fa is the second method of Zi Wu Liu Zhu Zhen Fa. The open points result from the integration of many energetic concepts of Chinese medicine.

Na – 拿 – means to take or make use of and Fa – 法 – means method. Jia – 甲 – is the first heavenly stem and stands for the heavenly stems in general. Na Jia Fa – 拿甲法 – “Take or Use the Stem Method” – is the method that works with the heavenly stems.

LING GUI BA FA

Ling Gui Ba Fa – 灵龟八法 – The Eight Methods of the Magic Turtle

The treatment takes place via the eight extraordinary channels. It is important consider their specific energetic intent (see indications).

Two Methods

Ling Gui Ba Fa includes two methods which are Ling Gui Ba Fa – Original Style and Fei Teng Ba Fa, a simplified form of the Ling Gui Ba Fa.

 

These methods are described as numerical acupuncture in contrast to astronomical acupuncture, which refers to the Zi Wu Liu Zhu Zhen Fa.

Indications

What is most important to remember here is that in going over these channels you reach the yuan or constitutional level. From this point of view you treat primarily conditions over the eight extraordinary channels which deal with the essential value of the jing –  精. The very nature of these maladies tends to be chronic, serious, or may even be inherited.

A further indication for the use of an extraordinary channel becomes apparent through the path of this channel which can include several of the twelve main channels. The extraordinary channel “Yang Wei Mai”, for example, contains the area of the BL-, GB-, SI-, and TE-channel. In other words, treatment through an extraordinary channel allows for coverage of a much wider area than treatment through a main channel.

And finally, the extraordinary channels offer a good option for treating polarity conditions. By this I mean conditions of imbalance between both sides of the body and its channels. Consider using the extraordinary channels to balance these polarities. The commonly used left-right and top-bottom confluent point combinations are most suitable for these problems.

Translation

Ling – 灵– means effective or imbued with spirit. Gui – 龟– is the turtle. Ba – 八 –means eight and Fa – 法 – means the method.

The common, symbolically rich, translation of Ling Gui Ba Fa – 灵龟八法 – can be taken as the “The Eight Methods of the Magic Turtle“.

Fei – 飞 – means to fly. Teng – 腾 – means soaring.

Fei Teng Ba Fa – 飞腾八法  – can be translated as “The Eight Techniques of Soaring“.

 

Background

Ling Gui Ba Fa as well as its simplified form called Fei Teng Ba Fa – the Eight Techniques of Soaring – combine the eight extraordinary channels with insights from old daoistic knowledge: “He Tu” (“The Yellow River Chart”) and the “Luo Shu” (“The Luo River Diagram”), the eight trigrams in the early heavens order according to Fu Xi and the later heavens order according to Wen Wang, as well as the theories of the heavenly stems and the earthly branches.

Zeit-Akupunktur2017-12-22T15:08:31+00:00

SONNENZEIT-UHRZEIT

ZI WU LIU ZHU

LING GUI BA FA

Grundlagen

Die Wortschöpfung „Zeit-Akupunktur“ soll die Kombination der Energetik der Zeit mit der Energetik der Akupunktur verdeutlichen. Durch den Einbezug des Zeitaspekts in die Behandlung wird die Akupunktur optimiert. Wir behandeln wie die alten Meister.

In der Jin- und Yuan-Zeit (12. bis 13. Jh.) entstanden die zwei klassischen Methoden Zi Wu Liu Zhu Zhen Fa und Ling Gui Ba Fa  mit je zwei Untergruppen.

Als Grundlage für die Zeit-Akupunktur dient ein zyklisches Zeitverständnis. Das Jahr, der Monat und der Tag sind Beispiele solcher Zyklen. Jeder Zyklus wird weiter unterteilt. So beinhaltet ein Jahr zwölf Monate und ein Tag zwölf chinesische Doppelstunden. Jede Zeiteinheit wird charakterisiert durch die Yin-Yang-Polarität und die fünf Wandlungsphasen. Diese daoistischen Konzepte sind uns in der Akupunktur bestens bekannt. Auch hier finden wir die Unterteilung in zwölf, beispielsweise die zwölf Leitbahnen. Es liegt auf der Hand, dass Zeit und Akupunktur, beide charakterisiert durch die Yin-Yang-Polarität und die fünf Wandlungsphasen, miteinander abgeglichen und kombiniert werden können.

Hintergrundinformationen

Ausführliche Hintergrundinformationen über die zeitbasierten Akupunktur-Methoden Zi Wu Liu Zhu Zhen Fa und Ling Gui Ba Fa finden Sie im Manuskript „Theoretische Grundlagen und Konzepte“, welches dem Wheel of Time Acupuncture beiliegt. Das Manuskript beantwortet Ihre Fragen, wenn Sie sich über die Anwendungen der „Zeit-Akupunktur-App“ oder des “Wheel of Time Acupuncture” hinaus informieren wollen.

SONNENZEIT-UHRZEIT

Zeitverständnis der alten Chinesen

Zur Zeit der Entstehung dieser klassischen Methoden der Zeit-Akupunktur war unsere heutige Uhrzeit nicht bekannt. Als Referenz diente die Sonnenzeit. Die alten Chinesen gründeten die Zeit-Akupunktur auf der Erkenntnis, dass physiologische Funktionen unter dem Diktat der Sonne stehen. Dieses Wissen untermauern auch viele Ergebnisse der modernen Chronobiologie.

Heutige Anwender von Zi Wu Liu Zhu Zhen Fa und Ling Gui Ba Fa müssen sich deshalb zwingend an die definierenden Bedingungen der Methoden halten. Das bedeutet, dass die lokale Uhrzeit auf die aktuelle Sonnenzeit umgerechnet werden muss.

Die Berechnung der Sonnenzeit aus der lokalen Uhrzeit ist jedoch kompliziert und die Zeit dafür im Praxisalltag meist zu knapp. Zwar erschienen diverse Publikationen zum Thema, aber diese bieten für die Berechnung oftmals wenig praktikable Hilfestellung. Dieses Problem wird durch die neue Zeit-Akupunktur-App gelöst. Die klassischen zeitbasierten Akupunkturmethoden sind damit einfach und zuverlässig anwendbar.

Berechnungshilfen

Sonnenuhr

Sonnenuhr

Beispiel: Sonnenuhr an der Kapelle Siebeneich, Kerns, CH (8.27°E). Fotografiert am 21.5.2016; lokale Uhrzeit (CEDT = UTC+02:00): 14:25

Diese Sonnenuhr ist geeicht auf Echtzeit (=Winterzeit). Da zum Zeitpunkt des obigen Bildes die Sommerzeit aktiv war, muss auf die Winterzeit umgerechnet werden:

Lokale Echtzeit (Zonenzeit CET =UTC+01:00): 13.25

Der Schatten des Zeigers fällt in etwa auf die Markierung für 13:30. Dies entspricht der lokalen Uhrzeit entsprechend der Winterzeit.

Die korrekt berechnete Sonnenzeit für das obige Beispiel wäre jedoch 13.01 (siehe Uhrzeit-Sonnenzeit-Rechner)

Die Siebeneicher-Sonnenuhr zeigt also nicht die wirkliche Sonnenzeit an, wie eine richtige antike Sonnenuhr das tun müsste.
Erklärung dieses Widerspruchs: Das abgebildete Zifferblatt wurde so auf die Kapelle aufgemalt, dass der Zeiger in etwa die lokale Uhrzeit ohne Korrektur der Sommerzeit angibt und nicht die Sonnenzeit.

ZI WU LIU ZHU

Zi Wu Liu Zhu Zhen Fa – 子午流注针

Zi Wu Liu Zhu heisst frei übersetzt „Akupunkturmethode entsprechend dem Strömen der Zeit“. Die Begriffe Zi Wu und Liu Zhu gehen auf die klassischen Bücher Huang Di Nei Jing (um 200 v. Chr.) und Nan Jing (um 200 n. Chr.) zurück.

Diese Form der Chronoakupunktur wird oft als astronomische Akupunktur bezeichnet. Sie behandelt Pathologien der zwölf Meridiane und verwendet dazu die Fünf Transport-Shu-Punkte und die Ursprungs-Yuan-Qi-Punkte auf den Yang-Meridianen.

Es werden zwei Grundformen unterschieden. Die erste Methode, Na Zi Fa, verwendet Erdzweige. Die zweite Methode heisst Na Jia Fa und verwendet die Himmelsstämme.

Zi Wu Liu Zhu Zhen Fa: Na Zi Fa – 拿子法

Alle Akupunkteure werden Na Zi Fa, die erste Methode von Zi Wu Liu Zhu Zhen Fa, kennen. Sie beinhaltet diverse Anwendungen der Meridianuhr.

„Na – 拿“ heisst „nehmen“. „Zi – 子“ ist der erste Erdzweig, steht aber stellvertretend für die Erdweige allgemein. „Fa– 法“ heisst „Methode“.  „Na Zi Fa“ – 拿子法 – „Nimm die Zweige Methode“ – ist also die Methode, die mit den Erdzweigen arbeitet.

Dies ist die einfachste Chronopunktur-Methode. Sie beruht auf der Kombination der 12 Doppelstunden der „Merdian-“ oder „Organuhr“ mit den „Fünf Transport-Shu-Punkten“.

Den theoretischen Hintergrund für das System liefern einerseits die Organuhr mit den Zuordnungen der Erdzweige zu den Meridianen und andererseits die Energetik der Fünf Transport-Shu-Punkte mit ihren klassischen Wirkqualitäten und den Regeln entsprechend den fünf Wandlungsphasen.

Meridianuhr

Die Anwendung der Meridianuhr beinhaltet viele Strategien, wie beispielsweise:

  • verschiedene Strategien zur Tonisierung, verschiedene Strategien zur Sedierung
  • Strategien der fünf Transport-Shu Punkte in Bezug auf die klassischen Indikationen, in Bezug auf die Indikationen der Elemente und in Bezug auf saisonale Indikationen
  • verschiedene Strategien zur Behandlung von Problemen auf der Ebene der Meridiane
  • Strategien zur Behandlung von Problemen auf der Ebene der inneren Organe
  • Strategien zur Behandlung der Zang-Organe
  • Strategien zur Behandlung der Fu-Organe
  • Behandlungsstrategien über Funktionen von spezifischen Punkten (Durchgangs-Luo-Punkte, Ursprungs-Yuan-Punkte, Spalten-Xi-Punkte, untere Meer-Xiahe-Punkte, Wurzel-Ben-Punkte, Rücken-Shu-Punkte, Alarm-Mu-Punkte)
  • Anwendungen der Gastgeber-Gast Regel
  • Anwendungen der Mittags-Mitternachts-Regel

In der Zeit-Akupunktur-App werden diese Strategien detailliert erklärt.

Zi Wu Liu Zhu Zhen Fa: Na Jia Fa – 拿甲法

Wegen der Effizienz dieser Methode nenne ich die Behandlungspunkte „Joker-Punkte“.

Na Jia Fa ist die zweite Methode von Zi Wu Liu Zhu Zhen Fa. Die offenen Punkte ergeben sich aus der Integration vieler energetischer Konzepte der chinesischen Medizin.

„Na – 拿“ heisst „nehmen“. „Jia – 甲“ ist der erste Himmelsstamm, steht aber für die Himmelsstämme allgemein. „Fa – 法“ heisst „Methode“.  „Na Jia Fa – 拿甲法“ – „Nimm die Stämme Methode“ – ist also die Methode, die mit den Himmelsstämmen arbeitet.

LING GUI BA FA

Ling Gui Ba Fa – 灵龟八法 – Methode der achtfach wirkkräftigen Schildkröte

Die Behandlung erfolgt über die Acht Extrameridiane, deren spezielle Energetik für die sinnvolle Anwendung beachtet werden soll.

Zwei Methoden

Ling Gui Ba Fa umfasst zwei Methoden, nämlich Ling Gui Ba Fa – Original Style, die Originalform, und Fei Teng Ba Fa, eine vereinfachte Form des Ling Gui Ba Fa.

Die Methoden des Ling Gui Ba Fa werden auch als nummerische Akupunktur bezeichnet, im Unterschied zur astronomischen Akupunktur, die sich auf Zi Wu Liu Zhu Zhen Fa bezieht.

Indikationen

Der wichtigste Gesichtspunkt bei beiden Methoden ist wohl, dass über die Kanäle der Extrameridiane direkt die Tiefe, die Yuan-, oder konstitutionelle Ebene erreicht werden kann. Unter diesem Gesichtspunkt behandelt man über die acht Extrameridiane primär Zustände, welche die wertvollen Essenzen – Jing – 精 –  betreffen. Dies sind chronische, schwerwiegende, eventuell sogar ererbte, konstitutionelle Leiden.

Ein weiterer Aspekt für die Indikation ergibt sich aus dem Meridian-Verlauf eines Extrameridians, welcher mehrere der zwölf Hauptmeridiane umfassen kann. So beinhaltet beispielsweise der Yang Wei Mai das Gebiet des BL-, GB-, SI- und TE-Meridians. Oder anders ausgedrückt: Durch die Behandlung eines Extrameridians wird ein breiteres Gebiet abgedeckt, als durch die Behandlung eines Hauptmeridians.

Und schliesslich lassen sich Polaritäts-Zustände gut über die Extrameridiane behandeln. Darunter sind Ungleichgewichts-Zustände zwischen beiden Seiten des Körpers und der Meridiane zu verstehen. Die Links-Rechts- und Oben-Unten-Punkte-Kombinationen entsprechend dem üblichen Konzept zur Behandlung mit den Verbindungs- und Zusammenkunftspunkten der Acht Extrameridiane eignen sich bestens für solche Problem.

Übersetzung

Ling –  灵 –  heisst wirkungsvoll oder beseelt. Gui – 龟 –  ist die Schildkröte. Ba – 八 –  heisst Acht und Fa – 法 die Methode.

Die geläufige, symbolträchtige Übersetzung von Ling Gui Ba Fa – 灵龟八法 –  lautet also „Die Methode der Achtfach Wirkkräftigen Schildkröte“ oder in Englisch „The Eight Methods of Magic Turtle“.

Fei – 飞 –  heisst fliegen. Teng – 腾 – heisst emporsteigen.

Fei Teng Ba Fa – 飞腾八法  –  kann als „Achtfache Methode des Emporfliegens“ oder in Englisch als „The Eight Techniques of Soaring“ übersetzt werden.

Hintergrund

Ling Gui Ba Fa und Fei Teng Ba Fa verbindet die Energetik der acht Extrameridiane mit den Erkenntnissen aus altem daoistischem Wissen: He Tu (Die Karte vom Gelben Fluss) und Luo Shu (Die Schrift vom Fluss Lo), die acht Trigramme in der Ordnung von Fu Xi (Früher Himmel) und Wen Wang (Später Himmel) sowie die Theorien der Himmelstämme und Erdzweige.